WCoNA's Book of the Year

At its annual conference, WCoNA presents its Book of the Year award to an author whose work captures the spirit and essence of northern Appalachia. WCoNA looks for books that stand out among others within their genres and among other books about northern Appalachia. Books published in 2022 and 2023 are eligible for nomination in 2024. Nominations are accepted only from members of the WCoNA committee by December 1st of each year and address the following questions:

1. How does this book capture the spirit/essence of northern Appalachia?

2. How does this book stand out among other books within its genre?

3. How does this book stand out among other books about northern Appalachia?
4. What makes this book unique? 

2023 Winner

And It All Came Tumbling Down
Hannah Allman Kennedy

Hannah Allman Kennedy is a writer and artist from the oil ghost towns of Venango County, Pennsylvania. Her work has appeared in publications including Belt Magazine and Backbone Mountain Review. She writes and hosts the podcast What Happened Here, which explores the stories of interesting places. Hannah holds an MFA from Carlow University. She lives in Pittsburgh and teaches writing at Robert Morris University.  

And It All Came Tumbling Down (The Watershed Journal Literary Group, 2021) is a novel set in rural, post-industrial Pennsylvania, and explores the tenuous intersection of identity, place, family, and faith. The story follows Amy Reilly, a young woman who left her hometown for the big city. When a family tragedy brings her back home, Amy must contend with the place and people she left behind.

Previous Winners

Goshen Road
Bonnie Proudfoot

Appalachia North
Matthew Ferrence